Everything is more interesting in a British accent

Hello again,
I am currently on campus for my first day of class. Picture me with my Northface backpack on, in the usual "first day of school" photo op that parents always make you take. We have to take two buses to get on to Uni Park campus, first one of the turquoise line then the 34 orange line. Of course I was running late today and didn't even get onto the bus until 10:18 when my class is at 11, and it takes at the very least 35 mins to get to campus. Then I took a wrong turn on the Canning Circus stop and had to backtrack, thankfully just in time to catch the 34 to campus. Once there I walked in the complete wrong direction, until I suddenly realized the bus had dropped us off right next to Sir Clive Granger (the building that I was supposed to be in).
Finally at 10:58 I arrived in my lecture hall just in time for the lecture to begin, only half covered in sweat from nerves and walk/running everywhere. The beginning lecture was excellent, and the class promises to be awesome, but who would have thought differently with a title like Introduction to the Archaeology of the Roman Empire. It doesn't hurt that the professor is British which makes everything he says immensely more interesting to listen to.
Next I went off to buy my Italian text book. £23 in case you were wondering. Hopefully the library will have most of my reading list, as I am planning on spending most of my money on clothes. To say I stand out would be an understatement. The English here dress at once much better and much worse than me. Even my semi dress clothes appear shabby around the other students.
I have narrowed the style of dress down to two main ideas: posh and ghetto. The posh clothes are AMAZING, I want them. (Lauren Russett would understand my need to shop right now.) They all seem to have a million scarves that work effortlessly with their outfits, cropped skinny jeans, pretty sweaters and purses/bags.
.
The ghetto kids remind me of the tv show Skins. They wear leggings with pacsun-esk t shirts or baggy sweaters and either throwback nikes or white vans. Backcombed hair seems to be a big fad with them as well. Oh, also a lot of girls wear super short cut-off jean shorts over leggings or tights...and sometimes no tights. I have only seen a couple girls on campus who have backpacks and they seem to be the foreign exchange students. I'm going to need a bigger purse (wink wink nudge nudge mom). Even the boys are dressed better than me but I have not been paying attention to their trends as much. Oh and I already bought some new shoes. They. Are. Awesome! So cool I had to write it in Shatner style. Also, thinking of buying a leather jacket. A cute one, not a biker one if that makes any sense. A lot of girls have them here.

Presently I'm sitting in the Cafe in Trent building, which is where my Italian class is at three (currently 2:13 or 14:13). Hopefully it goes well. I haven't taken a conversational language in a while, wish me luck! Planning on hitting up the library after class before I go home. Apparently I'm not allowed to join the skydiving club according to my mom. Even though it is a great opportunity to get out of my comfort zone and try new things! Oh well, I still have the triathlon club, hopefully. I'm not sure if I will be able to join due to our flat dinners not coordinating with when everyone in England eats dinner. Hopefully we can just move dinner back so we can adjust to the culture.
I'm Looking for a road bike with 600/700c wheels in case anyone reads this and has any suggestions as to where in Nottingham I could buy one cheap or rent one for a year. Philip and Aimee are making dinner tonight so it will probably be great.
Untill next time ciao!
No comments:
Post a Comment