I have recently developed a social life
Sorry I have been neglecting my blog a little! I have recently developed a social life, which is a nice change. As I mentioned before I joined the Frisbee team here at Uni, and it is great! I made the women's first team, which is their 2nd best team. The best one is boys and girls (mostly boys). I also went to my first ultimate tournament this weekend in Loughborough University. About an hour away by bus and train. Our team (Fling) entered 2 beginners teams. I was on Fling 2. My team placed 16th out of 24th and our other team placed 21st. Not too bad if I do say so myself.
I got to know a lot of the members better and made some friends. I almost got the nickname Aladin, since my name is Genie, but it got vetoed by some of the other girls. They decided Genie was novel enough for a nickname. One of my other teammates got the name Ballen. Ben plus Allen, he wasn't allowed to have the name Ben since one of the older players is named Ben. We slept on a floor of a church hall with about 4 other teams, which was interesting to say the least. Loughborough threw a Frisbee party and a lot of us ended up in the church drunk, trying to find our sleeping bags in the dark. Someone used my feet as their pillow during the night as well. I didn't have a sleeping bag so I grabbed one out of our flat closet that looked like it was from the 50's. I tried not to think about the last time it had been washed. I'm going to invest in one that condenses down really small. I have been referred to Blacks, an outdoors store, kind of like Scheels or Active Endeavors.
This weekend there is a women's only tournament in Nottingham which means there is no entry or travel fees, plus I can make lunch at my flat instead of packing it.We have practice every weekday but Tuesday. Monday and Wednesdays are at the Jubilee campus, only a 20 minute bike ride away from the flat. I don't want to walk because then I have to walk through Aspley (my suburb) which is slightly sketch at night and there are no buses between Jubilee and our flat since it is "close". Unfortunately all the bikes at the flat are in slight disarray. I think I have found one that will just need; new brakes (the right brake does not work at all), re-grease the chain, and some lights so I don't get hit by other bikers. You can bike on the pavement or the road but I'm not confident enough on the road so I'm sticking to the pavement. Also I'd love it if someone would mail me my helmet so I don't die! hint hint wink wink.
Other than that classes are going pretty well, loving Italian. I have once again forgotten what time my first lecture is, and arrived on campus 2.5 hours early. I finally got some of my books for Greek so I can start to catch up on my reading for that class. Philip, Aimee and I are going to take a day trip to Lenton where they think they have found one of the English kings. We are trying to work out a day that we can all go. I can hardly believe that it is already halfway through October! I'm finally taking Kenza's advice and growing out my bangs like I should have done this summer. They are once again at that horribly awkward length where they are always in the way and look weird with headbands. My piercing is finally starting to heal so my refusal to take it out even though it has gotten infected twice has worked out, since I still have two ears. I need to go get a new earring because I am allergic to most metals other than silver and gold so then it can finally heal all the way. It is going to be extra expensive since I am in England.
Laters
Genie
No comments:
Post a Comment